Living Ain’t Easy

Whatever you do, you need courage.  Whatever course you decide upon, there is always someone to tell you that you are
wrong.  There are always difficulties arising that tempt you to believe
your critics are right.  To map out a course of action and follow it to
an end requires some of the same courage that a soldier needs.  Peace
has its victories, but it takes brave men and women to win them.
– Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-1882)

Courage is not the absence of fear y’all. 
Courage is action despite fear.  Humans will always fear.  We will
always worry.  We will panic.  We will doubt.  However, if we allow
these emotions to paralyze us then we die.  Perhaps not physically–but
spiritually and emotionally we languish.  So at the beginning of the
day, I pray.  I go before God honestly, reminding Him of my frailty and
my deep desire to live a life that honors Him.  More often than not, I
am ashamed that I can not fully live up to everything I believe a
Christian should be.  It sometimes dries up my enthusiasm for the day
b/c I’m so stretched out about my inadequacies.  Then I just keep on
praying and keep on telling myself that all is well.  I keep on
reminding myself that God shares my burdens every 24 hours–He doesn’t
expect me to look back or peer too closely into the murky future–and
expects me to leave everything to Him.

He knows I’m having rough days, weeks,
months and years; but He loves me still.  He provides for me still.  He
reminds me of His love, His grace, His mercy.  I just wish I wasn’t
quite as weak in my spirit as I am.  But perhaps it is that weakness
that reminds me of who I am, of who God is and of how much I need Him
to live, breath and have my being. 

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

Leave a Reply

