Whatever you do, you need courage.  Whatever
course you decide upon, there is always someone to tell you that you
are wrong.  There are always difficulties arising that tempt you to
believe your critics are right.  To map out a course of action and
follow it to an end requires some of the same courage that a soldier
needs.  Peace has its victories, but it takes brave men and women to
win them.
– Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-1882)

I turned in my ERAS application yesterday.  I’ve sent my
info to 8 programs at a cost of only $110!!!  I thought I would
have to pay at least $400.

UPMC (Pgh)
Baylor (Houston)
Univ of New Mex (Albuquerque)
Cambridge (Cambridge)
Univ of Cali @ San Fran
Univ of Cali @ San Diego (La Jolla)
Stanford
UCLA @ Torrance, CA

I have to email Dr S for more information on good Cali programs. 
So far I’ve applied to the biggies.  Next week sometime I’ll apply
to about 8 more including whatever Cali places he recommends, GW and
Georgetown (DC), Mt Sinai, MU of S. Carolina @ Charleston.

It’s all rather mind-boggling.  To think that I’m making program
decisions based not just on caliber of the program but also
location.  Yet, I know that God will take me where I’m supposed to
go and that as long as I think big, He will act big (in whatever way
that will be).

I also applied for the USMLE Step 2 CK which was a cool $455.  I’m
waiting until I’ve transferred some funds into the checking to pay for
the even cooler $1000 or so that the Step 2 CS will cost me. 
Think big money…big money! LOL

CCM is more difficult that I first
imagined.  Hours aren’t super long but they are intense. 
Details, details, details…Na went up, K went down, H/H is dropping,
tubing, a-lines, temp etc.  Hours of rounding in the morning
followed by WISER followed by another hour of rounding.  It’s been
tiring.  And not to add the other stuff I was dwelling upon
(performance during WISER simulations, finishing the
application).  I have to start board studying this week for the
exam in November.  God be praised, I will do exceptionally well.

I spent yesterday hanging out with thalessa.  First it was Indian
food at People’s (didn’t expect to see V there, but he was), followed
by a jaunt to Shingar where I got Veer Zaara.  Then to Baskin’s
for a chocolate chip milkshake.  Straightaway to my house where I
showed Thalassa my small Ghanaian clothing selection.  I hung out
online afterwards and then went to bed at a very early time, only to
wake up around 3am.  I will go back to bed soon to continue my
beauty sleep.  LOL.  The day was magnificent–What a glorious
fall day should be–all sunshine, warmish breezes and golden
reds. 

Today I will go to church.  Then I will do whatever comes to mind.

I’m already dreaming of SF and what it will be like.  How will I
get a nice apt?  Should I live in Oakland and commute into
SF?  I don’t want to have a roommate in SF and how will I work all
that out?  It is fun to think of decking out an apt.  I can’t
wait.  Then again if I end up in da burgh I’m gonna buy a condo or
something in Edgewood/Swissvale.  I will have to contact the five
people I know out there (or who have lived out there) and ask them
questions now.  Well, I just emailed everyone.  And then I
decided to look at the webpages of these programs so I’m not surprised
and yup, SF has some extra stuff I have to fill out tomorrow. 
Good looking out HS, hunh?

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

One response to “

Leave a Reply

