Perfect Love – Contemplation II

But, My children, this absolute casting out of fear is the result of a Perfect Love, a Perfect Love of Me and My Father.  Speak to Me about everything.  Listen to Me at all times.  Feel My tender nearness, substituting at once some thought of me for the fear.

So then, how to I handle my fears?  How do I turn them out of my life completely?  By sticking close to God.  The past few weeks I’ve been unhappy because I felt that God wouldn’t want to hear about my money problems when I didn’t use my money as wisely as I could have.  Why would God want to hear about my amotivation when I’m not studying like I should?  Why would I ask God to bless me when I’m irritable, ornery and generally crabby?  Why would I seek His divine presence when I’m wallowing in my own musty mess?  I haven’t been able to talk to God b/c I’ve felt that I got myself into all this mess and who am I to go to God and seek His help in all of this??

Imagine how good it feels to hear that He wants me to talk to Him about EVERYTHING.  Especially the parts of me that I’m not proud to call me?  It feels good to know that He wants me to continue to speak to Him about all my mess-ups, my bad soggy bits and my unhealthy habits.  I can go to Him even in my shame and He will still wrap Himself around me.  He will still remove fear from my heart.  He will never leave me nor forsake me and will be faithful because He can not be untrue to Himself (If we are faithless, he will remain faithful, for he cannot disown himself 2 Timothy 2:13) and will purify me from all my unrighteousness (If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness–I John 1:19)

In talking to Him, listening to Him and waiting on Him; I will see the glory of God manifested in my life.  This morning when I was showering, I told God that I didn’t know what would happen today but I just wanted to be close to Him.  I didn’t want to think about all my responsibilities or what lay ahead.  I didn’t want to bolster my strength or make myself happy with Bible verses.  What I wanted was the truth of Christ; the presence of Christ more than anything else.  And when I came into my room, my eyes fell upon the notecards upon which I wrote my Bible verses and I read: Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9

How do I handle my fears?  I focus on Christ.  Not on my weaknesses.  Not on my problems.  Not on my sagging energy or amotivation. Not on my confusion or loneliness.  Not on my sinfulness or immorality.  Not on my past, my present or my future.  But on God.  I focus on God. 

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

Leave a Reply

