Measure of a Man Taken by Another Man


The only man I know who behaves sensibly is my tailor; he takes my
measurements anew each time he sees me.  The rest go on with their
old measurements and expect me to fit them.
- George Bernard Shaw (1856-1950)

Quite true.  Most people see you.  Assume that what they see
is all there is to be seen.  Granted, if they don't want to be
friends then I suppose that's okay; but when I am doing something other
than their impression of me have they any right to judge me? 
Should they not judge their own thoughts and assumptions?

For those who already know me intimately there is also the constant
burden of acquisition of data.  I am not static.  Perhaps my
dynamism is gradual but no one can deny that I change, so there must be
constant measurements taken of me.  After all, I take constant
measures of others.  Should I even consider this to be a burden or
a pleasurable exercise?  Is it a burden to be constantly
consciously cognizant of the ebb and flow of those around us?  I
suppose only if that exercise has not become habit.

When the exercise is habit then it is as normal and comfortable as an
old pair of jeans. It is only in the beginning of analytical education
(that is the process whereby we analyse others) and during major
paradigm changes in our own lives; that the process is large and
burdensome.  In the day to day, the process merely is.

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

Leave a Reply

