Miami

Alright,

So some of y’all don’t know the drama about Miami and match.  Let me fill y’all non-medical, non-pgh people in on what’s going on.  In your fourth year of medical school you go through an 8 month application/interviewing/ranking process that will eventually result in your post-graduation residency spot.  During residency you receive your specialized training.

For me, my training will be a four year psychiatry program at Jackson-Memorial hospital in Miami.  So, there are questions.  I know this.  Let me elaborate on the answers:

I start July 1st.  Orientation is in mid June.  I will be leaving da burgh sometime early June.  In early May I am looking to leave da burgh to find an apartment.  I am more nervous than excited.  While this is the end result of years of sweat, blood and tears; it also signifies the beginning of a chapter where I am somewhat responsible for the mental/physical health of other people.  This is quite a daunting realization for me–leaving me feeling ambivalent. 

I have made myself a solid home here and while I am afflicted with a wanderlust for travel, I am still somewhat of a "settler".  I enjoy having created this home-base with all my friends who have become family and am not necessarily looking to "start all over".

I don’t know how to feel about Miami.  It’s a lot for me to digest.

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

Leave a Reply

