just when you need it

I just returned from lunch with E.  So I don’t know him so well that he should buy me lunch; but hey God moves in mysterious ways.  I walked into Hillman today and saw him sitting at the front desk; fastidiously dressed.  I spoke with him for a few moments and he asked me if I wanted to go to lunch.  Sure. 

We went to Spice Island and discussed his background, his family issues, psychiatry, my brother, Israeli-Palestinian conflict.  And you know what I learned today?  I learned that Zionism has its roots in Germanic ideology with Zionists proclaiming that their promised land extends from the Nile to the Euphrates.  Whoa–goodbye Egypt, Jordan, Syria and Iraq!  I gotta read more on Zionism.

And at some point I said something so profound that his eyes began to water.  Yup, that’s me–my words cause grown-ass men to cry (he’s 40 in May).  What did I say?  I talked about how people enter and exit our lives for a reason or a season.  I talked of accepting every encounter as a learning experience, as a means of growth and strength.  Of knowing that even if the person changes drastically 10 years from now, you know that you were blessed or that other person was blessed and you walk away–without malice, secure in the fact that no one belongs to you so you give as much as you can, take what is necessary and always keep growing.  I spoke of patience with both self and others as we are all evolving.  I spoke of holding others to higher standards but not going crazy when they don’t reach them because their growth is ultimately between them and God.  I spoke of allowing yourself the time to go through and not go around the painful periods in your life because if you don’t, they’ll come back and bite you in the arse. 

Apparently, he recently broke up with his boyfriend and is having a very difficult time.

He said; “that’s the best gift anyone’s given me in a long time”.  I said, “Well, happy early birthday!”

Returning to the library, he left on an errand and I gave him a hug.  He said he would think about what I said and I told him to have a beautiful day.

Yes, God uses me.  Even when the other one doesn’t believe, He still uses me.

Ain’t that something?
 

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

One response to “just when you need it

Leave a Reply

