Roast Chicken and Target Romance

Last week, as I drove out of my apt building parking lot I saw–to my amusement–a CSI Miami Truck.  Dang, I gotta get out of my apt.

 

Night float is what it is…demanding, grueling and taxing.  I go home to sleep for as long as possible and wake up feeling like somebody used me as a punching bag while I slept.  I don’t understand how that happens.  I go to bed after breakfast and wake up sometime before 4pm.

 

Last week was rough though.  I barely got any sleep while I was on overnight and I got so grumpy!  It’s so easy to get grumpy when you’re sleep deprived, your eating schedule is off and you feel like you’re being run down.  Every Attending has a different way of operating and that’s nothing new to deal with; it’s just that I’ve only got one week with each and it behooves me to find out rather quickly how to work with them.  It’s been slightly frustrating at times–to the point of me dreaming about having patients whom I can’t present because I can’t find the Attendings.

 

I’m learning so much!  My learning curve is reeediculous yall.  Everyday I’m presented with more information to process–most of it in terms of the practicalities of working in an ER overnight: the paperwork is madness!  We don’t have Cerner or anything here so we’re stuck with tons of paperwork!  The computer system (HIS) is an old school form like the one we used at Shadyside–the TPS or whatever that was system.  There’s never enough information in the computers to assess most of the patients so you go in every time looking for the same information–even if you’ve seen the patient twice in the past week!

 

And boy do we have repeaters!  Most of the patients who come here are frequent fliers–looking for more medications because they sold the last batch for crack money; homeless looking for three hots, a cot and a shower; manipulative borderline patients coming between the hours of 2-5 complaining of "not being able to take it anymore"; substance abusers looking to detox…for the 20th time; kids brought in by police b/c they threatened to cut their wrists or hurt their families; mentally ill patients strung out on something walking the streets half naked; street people afraid of being hurt because of a drug deal gone wrong and the ever present police who Baker Act any strangely acting person walking down the streets of Miami.

 

Am I becoming cynical?  I don’t know.  I don’t think so, because I’m still learning the ropes.  I am becoming more adept at sniffing out what’s real and what’s not–though it’s a slow learning.  Sometimes I just don’t know.  I just don’t know.  I’m living a different life–learning so much that it’s amazing.  So much to figure out, so much to get used to, so many different personalities to learn about and blend in with as best as I can.  Weekends devoted to sleeping and errands–to refueling.

 

I’ve decided that this weekend I’m going to take Saturday to do something for me.  I’m gonna grab a movie by myself.  Just take some time out for me–nobody else.  I realized last night that I haven’t done anything purely pleasurable for a couple of weeks (going out dancing).  Most of what I do centers around errands–paying bills, going to the bank, figuring out how to pay for a new houselock, paying bills and going to WalMart and Target for household items (and being dead dog tired) afterwards.

 

At night I crave the weirdest things–like roasted chicken.  Don’t ask me why–I just do and by the time I leave the Publix isn’t open for me to grab a chicken.  The cafeteria here isn’t bad–they have curried meats, Spanish rice and all kinds of "ethnic" foods because there are so many "ethnic" people here.

 

Yup, Miami is a melting pot of South American and the Caribbean.  Tons of Cubans, Peruvians, Nicaraguans, Colombians, Haitians, Jamaicans, Trinis and every other kind of Caribbean island that I’ve never heard of before now!  I haven’t been hitting the restaurant scene b/c of 1) insufficient funds and 2) insufficient time but I think that starting next month I’ll be able to get back onto the restaurant scene.  The restaurants here are a bit pricier than up north and I surely do miss my Indian, Thai and Vietnamese spots!  I’m planning on hitting up an Indian restaurant this Friday after I sleep a bit.

 

In other romantic news, my Bahamian guy (J, see "next lifetime entry") remains insistent that he is madly in love with me and I remain insistent that he isn’t.  It’s a bit of an impasse.  I talk to him briefly ’cause I think he’s a nice guy but that kind of intense passion is such an incredible wall to buffet!  Oh and apparently the best way to meet guys is to be busy doing something completly different!  How do I know this?  Well, I met J when I was on my way to do laundry and I met "C" this past Saturday on my way back from Target.  I’m barely awake, completely intent on taking my tired self home to bed when I’m approached by a Targe worker who admires my glasses.  Okay–not a biggie, it’s been done before.  But then he strikes up this conversation and I’m like…wait..what???  Dude, I’m trying to go home!  Okay, I’m nice..I chat…but when he starts talking about "I like a woman…" and uhm, a minute ago you were asking me what I liked to do for fun…what???

 

Anyhoo, he was pleasant enough but man…not when I’m sleepy!  That’s what everyone tells me, when you’re looking, you don’t find; when you’re looking rough, eyes barely open, stomach growling, mind intent on going home out of the 101 degree heat–bingo!  Romance.  Well, okaaaaaay.  *Shaking my head*

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

Leave a Reply

