Year Bandit

So since when did I become a grown-up?  I’ve always wondered how it is that all of a sudden I’m supposed to pay all these bills, take care of my apt, take care of the car, take care of the insurance, take care of my life AND take care of patients.  Uhmmmm….WHAT?

The other day I found out that someone else is pregnant and going to give birth to a child in the upcoming year.  The past few years have been chock-full of deliveries and that kinda shocks me everytime I think that I am at the age that my parents were when I was being borned and all that good stuff.  And soon enough I’ll be at that age where my parents friends were coming over, hanging out, eating fufu and peanut soup, laughing and joking about politics, race, abrokye and abrabo.

Who’s stealing my years?  Who’s plucking them right out of my hands and handing them to the little ones who have been born the past two years?  My gosh!  Is there anyone else out there who is wondering what happened?  When did I become an Auntie x 178?  Okay, okay, so I’m exaggerating a bit–but seriously, aren’t you wondering what you’re doing too?

I’ve always been so preoccupied with the next step in my educational process–which you have to be if you’re going to be any kind of licensed professional–that while at a subconscious level I was aware of time lapsing, I find that I’m being cold-water shocked now all the time.  I’m going to be 30 in less than six months and how have I added to the beauty of the world?  What major goals have I reached and surpassed outside of my education and career? 

I was talking to a colleague of mine who said that being so focused at such an early age leads you to miss out on some of the "it’s that time so they’re gonna act crazy" era that other people take absolute and full advantage of in their earlier years.  Then again, if I wasn’t so focused would I be at this stage AT ALL?  Sigh.

I’m going to enjoy some sun now and stop thinking.

How are yall doing?  Out there in friendster land?

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

Leave a Reply

