10:07 at Amb Med Clinic

This ambulatory clinic is bad.  I’m not sure what the nurses do.  I’m not sure what I’m supposed to do.  I spend much of my time running around asking the nurses questions ’cause I never got any orientation to the clinic.  I got a folder but nothing about what to do w/ the labs/consults/images etc. 

I have to input all the orders into the computer, write them out on an order sheet, get all the order sheets for all procedures and fill those out.  Last week I had a pt who came in w/ an indwelling catheter secondary to urinary retention. She had been sticking her finger into her urethra in order to have the urine pass out–for the past 3-4 months at least!  She had seen a Gyne who recommended Urology to see her and she had been referred twice but the appointments never came in. 

She had been seen the week prior to me seeing her and she had her foley changed and was started on 30 days of CIPRO!!!!  What?  So the ER didn’t do any voiding studies, didn’t take any images and sent her home.  So I had to find the number for Urology, be on the phone forever, finally find someone kind enough to give me some info; then I had to fax the consult form to the appropriate place AND call them to let them know.  Uhm, why am I doing all this paperwork?

I don’t know about this place.  It’s definitely not up to par.

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

2 responses to “10:07 at Amb Med Clinic

Leave a Reply

