In hindsight.

I woke up this morning with a strong desire to remain in the bed.  In fact after setting my alarm to 5:40, I hit the off button (accidentally) and found myself arousing again around 6:55ish.  Aaaah, summer rain.

I’m at the VA for Neurology and have not done anything worthy of my MD in the past two weeks.  In fact I have spent most of the past two weeks messing about on the computer and thinking up ways to leave early.  I know that I’m not adding much to the work of the team but with 2-3 inpatients and 5-6 outpatient consults that we see every 2-3 days, well, I just don’t see how I can be of service.  And frankly, I have no desire whatsoever to do anything.

A couple of the drug reps took us out to eat at Indochine today.  Nice spot.  Smallish (good bistro size).  Decorations that are bright and diverse but not overwhelming.  There were various pieces of art hanging which were of the older generation–very 1950s and one that was on the more risque side.  I ordered the Chicken w/ Basil spicy but it came too mild.  Mild can be good if the overall flavor is kapow but it wasn’t so in this case; so I ordered some pepper and spiced it up.  Pretty good afterwards ;^)  The rest of the table had ordered steak and tuna tartare which I politely declined given that I’m not so much into the raw food unless it’s fruit.  

I have training call today starting at 4:30 and I’m going to stay until 10pm today rather than cut out at 7ish like I did last week.  I’ve been told it’s a good idea to stay so that you can get an idea of sign-out etc.  Here’s hoping the night is calm.

Yesterday after I got home from call, J and I went to church.  The Word was oh so necessary–what with our spiritual battles that we must fight.  The Word was based off of Eph 6:10-13 on the armor of God.  Pastor broke down the differing demonic forces that attempt to subvert the will of God as well asthe need to be properly armed for spiritual battle.  In particular he focused on the belt of truth and how it served three functions: as a tightener, a tool belt and a weight belt.  The Truth is Jesus Christ and when you “wear” Him around your waist He serves to tighten the looseness of your life in the sense of removing the sinful lifestyle that enables the evil one to snare you.  He also will act as a tool belt b/c the sword of the Spirit is the Bible (the Words of God) and in order to defeat the evil one you have to have both the Scripture which is the knowledge as well as the tool belt where you can place that knowledge–that is the power of Christ strapped around you.  Finally Jesus serves as a weight belt–the kind of belts that weight-lifters and people who work in heavy lifting use to keep up their posture, to prop them up and to enable them to have the strength to life heavy packages.  In the same way Christ will be the source of all strength to defeat any opposition that the evil attempts to place on you.

And given all that I’ve been dealing with in my life, I know that God was encouraging me to depend on Him totally and to have my mind focused on Christ as it is written in Colossians 3:16 “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.”  

After that wonderful direct Word from the Creator, we went back to the house and J checked email while I cleaned up a bit.  Then it was to Panya Thai for good Thai food.  Much better than Indochine!  Followed by a quick stop at Staple’s and then an ice cream break at Carvel’s (?).  From there it was off to Oak Grove Park were we sat and chatted for a while.

Yesterday was a good day.  I even wrote a poem. 

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

Leave a Reply

