Being Crunk so People leave me alone

I spent most of my life pursuing my MD.  Now that I have it I have to deal with ignorance on an even larger scale then when i was trying to get it.

i walk around the hospital campus mean-mugging so I am not accosted by calls of “nurse/social worker”. 

i don’t smile so that random men who happen to work for the housekeeping staff don’t mistake me for somebody else and call me out of my name: in short so that people who would never call a white female doctor anything but doctor–don’t call me miss and attempt to strike up a conversation bordering on insolence.

i don’t look people in the eye because i don’t want them staring at me, perplexed looks on their faces when they realize I’m not an RN, a housekeeper or a cafeteria worker.

we need social workers, LPNs, RNs, housekeeping staff.  we need them to be treated well.  we also need need people to not be familiar with each other just because we share the same skin tones. 

we need RESPECT

sigh.

maybe if i just walked around with an AK-47 i would get more respect?

but if i did it would justify their stereotypes. 

do people–of any skin tone–realize just how much they drive each other mad?  do they understand how their prejudices–judgment calls based solely on the color of someone else’s skin–adversely affect them?

then again, if they can crucified the Lord of the universe, a little disrespect toward me ain’t that bad…

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33

AMEN AND AMEN!

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

Leave a Reply

