Amazing Grace!

 So another day on my unit and I’m ridiculously tired!  I woke up this morning and couldn’t even think.  I was so tired that I thought that I could barely open my eyes.  My brain cells were full of brine.  I just couldn’t bear the thought of my Attending yelling, screaming, ranting, raving and cursing as he is so wont to do, so I complained to the Lord and told Him that I just could not in any way shape or form deal w/ that today.  I didn’t ask Him to change him, I just complained about it–told Him that I HATED it.  I told Him how wonderful it would be if for once, I could have some peace. 

 During pre-rounds the med students were buzzing around as they normally do, getting the census ready and I just sat there–in a sleep deprived daze.  I was super quiet today–the kind of quiet where I don’t even get upset w/ stupid questions b/c I don’t have the energy.

 And you know what?  My Attending didn’t yell ONCE today.  He was calm.  He cursed very little.  He didn’t go off on anyone, he made some jokes but not so many off-color comments. I was truly amazed!!!!

 It was an answer to an unspoken prayer!  Can you believe how God works?  Can you believe that He heard my cry for peace and granted it?  That I didn’t ask Him per se but He did it anyway?  HOW GOOD IS GOD???  How magnificent is He?

 I just turned on my cell phone and someone had sent me the following text:

 Romans 8:31-39🙂 

So I looked it up just now and guess what it said….

31What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us? 32He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? 33Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. 34Who is he that condemns? Christ Jesus, who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. 35Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36As it is written:
   “For your sake we face death all day long;
      we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”[a] 37No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[b] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

With all of this (answer to unspoken prayer, confirmation of God’s never-ending love and providence) how can I NOT believe that the Lord is the one true God?

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

Leave a Reply

