The People In My Neighborhood

Who are they?  For example, those LJ’ers –

,

, ?  Here are a few questions for you to read and answer…

What do you like to do in your spare time?

    Surf the net.  Read novels.  Go to the beach.  Eat out.  Journal.  Find places to go

What do you do when you want to treat yourself well?

    I go out to a nice dinner.  Sometimes I will catch a movie.   

How did you decide to live where you do?
   
    I came 2/2 residency
   
What lifestyle would you like to have?

    One wherein I can work enough to keep up my proficiency in psych and that             allows me time and money to travel for pleasure and for work; attend cultural             events (theater, music, fairs etc) while living comfortably (a good car built this             century and a nice 4-5BR house w/ grounds); trying my hand at the arts        (acting/poetry/music) and being able to donate funds in the form of scholarships     and endowments

What are you the most curious about?

    The way people live and how they think

If you had to choose, which could you live without: TV, the internet, a telephone or friends

    tv (technically i’m doing it right now)

What is your favorite holiday and why?

    Easter b/c of the significance and meaning, Christmas b/c of the all-around             infectious joy and Valentine’s day b/c of the love

How do you usually celebrate your birthday?

    With friends – going out

What is the strangest food you ever ate?

    Pickled pigs ears (chewy and vinegary – ungood)

Choose a unique item in your wallet and tell why you carry it around.

    A miniature copy of my med school diploma so that if something ever happens to         my diploma I will have documentation of all my hard work dagnabbit!

What is the first thing you notice about people?

    Their body habitus

You have won a prize. The prize has two options, and you can choose either (but not both). The first option is a year in Europe with a monthly stipend of $2,000. The second option is ten minutes on the moon.

       The year in Europe!

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

2 responses to “The People In My Neighborhood

  • millennialhippy

    What do you like to do in your spare time?

    Read and research

    What do you do when you want to treat yourself well?

    Nice meal, see a movie, go for a walk

    How did you decide to live where you do?

    I married my British husband, came to Britain, and chose Bollington. Got a job here, which cemented it.

    What lifestyle would you like to have?

    A slow, deliberate, quiet one engrossed in a community.

    What are you the most curious about?

    Why we are so frail.

    If you had to choose, which could you live without: TV, the internet, a telephone or friends

    Telephone

    What is your favorite holiday and why?

    Halloween because of the playfulness, and Thanksgiving because of there really is no other reason for getting together than getting together with the people you love.

    How do you usually celebrate your birthday?

    A nice dinner, possibly a movie.

    What is the strangest food you ever ate?

    ~At a traditional Chinese restaurant… I don’t know what it was, and I don’t want to.

    Choose a unique item in your wallet and tell why you carry it around.

    I carry around my marriage license, because you never know when I have to prove my identity and reason for being in the UK. Seriously.

    What is the first thing you notice about people?

    Their mood

    You have won a prize. The prize has two options, and you can choose either (but not both). The first option is a year in Europe with a monthly stipend of $2,000. The second option is ten minutes on the moon.

    I already live in Europe and make more a month! So, 10 minutes on the moon sound great… Not sure I’d want to be on the moon for longer than that.

  • elizabesia

    What do you like to do in your spare time?

    Hm. Sleep, read, spend time with loved ones, daydream about travel.

    What do you do when you want to treat yourself well?

    Take an evening off. Have a good meal. Have a pedicure.

    How did you decide to live where you do?

    Alas, I followed the winds of fortune for residency.

    What lifestyle would you like to have?

    Some work clinically, maybe some consulting on the side; a simple life near loved ones, plenty of time to read, play outside, explore my spirituality, travel, study all the things that interest me, be in an orchestra and choir, get better at yoga, have a dog.

    What are you the most curious about?

    Hm. Not sure. I’m curious about the experience of God.

    If you had to choose, which could you live without: TV, the internet, a telephone or friends

    I agree, definitely TV (don’t have one now either.)

    What is your favorite holiday and why?

    I love the time around Thanksgiving and Christmas because in the past it’s been very family oriented and loving.

    How do you usually celebrate your birthday?

    Lately? Working a shift. 🙂

    What is the strangest food you ever ate?

    Some weird (but no doubt lovingly made) soup in Honduras that was made of hot water and some animal hoof.

    Choose a unique item in your wallet and tell why you carry it around.

    A miniature copy of my med school diploma so that if something ever happens to my diploma I will have documentation of all my hard work dagnabbit!

    I’ve got that too, Ladylord!

    What is the first thing you notice about people?

    Their facial expression, I guess. (Lately it’s been “sick or not sick.” 😉 )

    You have won a prize. The prize has two options, and you can choose either (but not both). The first option is a year in Europe with a monthly stipend of $2,000. The second option is ten minutes on the moon.

    Again, I agree–definitely the year in Europe.

Leave a Reply

