some thoughts

I’ve slept more in the past 2 days than I have in a long time.

Yesterday I had to odd encounters.  One was with a guy who works at the local Publix and has a crush on me.  It’s rather odd.  I first noticed him sometime ago – just staring.  Everyone stares down here so I figured he was following suite only he always stared.  I don’t like it when people stare at me like that.  I was at the park yesterday, attempting to read when he walks over and sits on the other picnic table.  I’m annoyed b/c there’s a whole lot of park and other benches without people on them.  He sits there and stares at me.  I decide to wait him out and keep reading.

Then he says something which I can’t remember.  What I do remember is him saying “You didn’t say anything when I was trying to be nice”.  I just looked at him, made a sound (something like uuh okay) looked back at my book.  Eventually he moved to the other side of the table and then walked away.  I had noticed him earlier waving at me but I didn’t know who it was at that time.

A little while later, a couple of guys came over and sat on the other table w/ a guitar nonetheless and I’m thinking – uh, why this particular area?  The guys start strumming and it’s not too bad so I consider it a nice perk of the day.  Then they start getting louder as they talk to some other guys and I take it as my cue to move on to another bench.  A few times I had looked up and either one of the guitar guys or the creepy dude were looking at me.  Sigh.

I finished my book in relative silence, observing the odd looking birds that were ensconced on my side of the mini lake and thinking of the day’s beauty. 

Deciding that an exercise video might be advantageous for my physique, I popped over to Wal-Mart where while in line, a lady in make-up that was too light and too much proceeded to pull out a Mary Kay card to give to me.   Personally I don’t like Mary Kay products.  I’ve tried them once and didn’t like how clownish I looked and in fact, whenever I’ve looked at the faces of Mary Kay saleswomen, invariably their make-up has been layered w/ a trowel.   I shook my head and she starts to ask me questions about whether or not I ever used make-up, perfume and lip gloss.

At first I told her “no, thank you. I don’t want it” but I didn’t feel like answering this woman’s incessant questions so I just kept shaking my head.  For the first time that I can remember, someone looked at me like I had two heads.  It was kind of funny but kinda annoying.  What is it about some people that they feel the need to intrude on your day?  And keep intruding?  Keep asking you questions?

Ah well, I suppose that’s part of thelife process.  Interestingly enough I had prayed that morning that God’s will would be done in my life.  I wonder if there was something to those people happening to be there when they were.  I kind of felt bad about the creepy guy b/c I just didn’t try to be polite but when I’m tired and just want a little breathing room, it’s hard for me to speak well.  Words tend to stay unsaid.  Fatigue always makes me quiet.

Last night we hit up a new Yucatan restaurant close by the house: Cheen Huaye.  Both food and company were uplifting.  Came home, read some more and slept ;^)

Today was different.  Church was something else.  The Spirit was really evident in that place today.  The pastor didn’t even get to finish his sermon, people were just praising and worshiping God!  I came home afterwards and fell out back into my bed.  I think I could sleep for a whole week. 

Now I have to leave in about 25 minutes to get to work.  Sigh.  It’s wrong to have to work on the Lord’s Day but what choice do I have?

It’s been so beautiful this weekend.  The kind of weekend where you wish you had friends coming in from out of town to visit.  It’s been perfect.  Only thing missing?  Friends
 

About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

Leave a Reply

