ambivalent blogging

There’s that part of me that desires privacy – the ability to go off the grid – when I pour out my thoughts, without possible recrimination.  At the same time, there’s a part of me that wants to be read and longs for comments from the blog-verse.

I had a blog on livejournal.com which developed a few followers.  There was a certain headiness to knowing that people were actually interested in my life.  I haven’t run into anyone on wordpress.com that follows me and I’ve wondered what makes a blog following.  I suppose I could scour the net, find ways to increase my presence and have contact.

Come to think of it, that’s probably the right word “contact”.  Part of communication is the ‘commune’ aspect of interaction between individuals, of people bouncing ideas off of one another and discussing things, from the mundane to the glorious.  So I’m missing that internet contact and being able to check how many times my website is viewed brings that lack of response smack upside my head.

Even with my personal desire for “more”, I have to be honest in that I always run the risk of feeling over-exposed in my regular life and find myself retreating inward when as Wordsworth so eloquently penned “the world is too much with us; late and soon, getting and spending, we lay waste our powers“, so I’ll keep my ambivalence and my privacy – even at the risk of limited internet response…


About papillion

Intense Often Moody Transparent Exquisitely sensitive Animated Never satisfied Curious Eternal Romantic Creative Devotedly Christian Encouraging Multi-layered Loving Quick Judge Critical Forever evolving View all posts by papillion

Leave a Reply

